top of page

Poetry Month #1: Plastic Wrap

Updated: Apr 1, 2020

And so it begins...rather strangely, for me.


I actually used the official NaPoWriMo prompt, which was to


"write a self-portrait poem in which you make a specific action a metaphor for your life – one that typically isn’t done all that often, or only in specific circumstances. For example, bowling, or shopping for socks, or shoveling snow, or teaching a child to tie its shoes."

This is what resulted, and this metaphor was one I thought of a few years back at a writing class, but never really explored.


 

Plastic Wrap Day 1

I push away the plate of cookies

Already safeguarded by plastic wrap

My life is the pushing away of cookies

To add to the safeguard of plastic wrap

And in a push, a little shove

I reinforce my mental war

The time will come when I’ve no need

For plastic wrap or pushing more

The reason not that I’ll succeed

In extinguishing my cookie love

(For slowly savoring morsels of

Self pity for my daily plight

Indulging in forbidden words

That tear at others self-seen might

Growing fat on pleasant lies

From which I will not be stirred)

But because the time will finally come

When there is no need for plastic wrap

To protect from poison in the crumbs

For I, now new, will not be trapped

By cravings for a lesser feast

That turns to dust upon the tongue

Distorting, bloating, as you eat

But rather an unending spread

Uncovered, and to taste I’ll find

I’m satisfied, yet constant fed

With all desires and truth aligned

I push away the plate of cookies

Carefully safeguarded by plastic wrap

My life is the pushing away of cookies

Until life and the tearing of plastic wrap


44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page