top of page

Where Have all the Poems Gone?

Hello all!


It is now May 1st. I cannot believe how this year is speeding by.


My goal was to be posting poems all through the month of April. As you can see, that did not happen.


My goal was also to write a poem every day through the month of April. Sadly, I did not achieve that goal either.


I have learned an important lesson.


Poetry is extremely difficult to write when I am (1) exhausted, (2) overwhelmed with school, and (3) have no inspiration.


I have written poetry under each of those circumstances before individually, but when I was consistently trying to write under all three, my poetry was of very poor quality.


In fact, I greatly disliked most of the poetry I wrote this month. I wrote 19 poems, and out of those, I really only liked 2 or 3.


So, I stopped forcing myself to write. I'll be writing more poetry soon, and also updating you on my novel!


I'm disappointed that I didn't finish, especially after a two year streak, but I know college is a bit of a different landscape that I'm exploring.


Over the next few days I'll share my favorite few poems. Keep an eye out, and thanks for reading!

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page