top of page

Poetry Month #4: Helium Balloon

Here you have poem number 4! I had this idea a few weeks back and wrote it in my planning notebook to use later on. Hope you enjoy!


 

Helium Balloon Day #4

I overheard them and that child just now

With puffy dress and hair tied in a bow

A whispered conversation over cake

She wanted to untie me and let go

A sudden breeze bumped me against the wall

And pulled me taut until they answered no

They said I’d kill a harmless baby bird

Why I’d do that, I have no way to know.

I only want to see the distant sights

To glint and oscillate in sunny gleams

Look down on children pointing in delight

My string trailing behind in careless waves

Letting my fall be one long mighty sigh

To earth again from glory of the heavens

Feeling the rush of heights before I die

Look at me, child, for you’re my single chance

Come now, do not avoid my longing eye

For if I have the helium within me

How can they say I should not get to fly?



27 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page