top of page

Poetry Month #1: (Bonus) Tree of Life

Updated: Apr 1, 2020

I just went outside and climbed a tree. It was remarkably refreshing after being inside most of the day.


While up there in the branches, inspiration struck. I ran in and wrote this poem, which actually also aligns with the NaPoWriMo prompt for today. (I explain it in the last post, or see it here: http://www.napowrimo.net/day-one-2/)


I like this one much better than the attempt earlier. Hope you enjoy!


 

The Tree of Life Day #1


Another split, another choice

And feeling for a sturdy side

The branch I grab will likely hold

I thrust myself with measured grip

And perch a moment on a limb


The bark is slick from recent rain

But warm upon my face the sun

Breaths promise for the coming heights

I lean my cheek against the rough

Drink in the comfort of the shade


And then I grab the branch above

For it to break so I may fall

To that same limb waiting below

And there’s a splinter and a scrape

And there’s a scar that was a scrape


I pause for breath and let my eyes

Fall down the trunk far as they may

Surveying places where I leapt

And stretches weakly climbed with help

And tremble at how far I’ve come


And up beyond the blurring leaves

Branches outspread higher than sight

Decisions weave a canopy

So I press on by what’s behind

And pray I choose the soundest way


37 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page