top of page

2020 Writing Goals Overview

These times are crazy. The state is on lockdown, all of my extracurricular activities have been canceled or postponed, and I'm left with the strange feeling of having free time. While it's been a struggle to give up so many things I love, I am excited that this season allows me to grow and be productive in my writing. I'm going to break these goals down into categories to see the short term goals for this year. I'll post another time about long term goals, and how you are helping me achieve them!


Poetry:

I am impatiently awaiting the approach of April 1st, when all across the country, and even the globe, people become dedicated poets for one month. I'm doing National Poetry Writing Month (NaPoWriMo) for my second consecutive year, and I will be trying to adhere to the goal of writing a poem a day.

This year I'll be doing it with a few members of my writing group, and I will be posting my daily poem on this site, so you can follow along as well. More to come on that, later.


Short Stories:

I want to write complete the first draft of one short story a month, beginning in May. I intend to share these in their entirety on this site.

I'm pretty excited about these, so stay tuned for these titles:

Soldier On

The Colony

Animal Crackers

The Rush

The Black Chrysanthemum


Novel:

I've already begun to work on Maroon, setting the goal of half an hour of writing per day. While I may take a break for April, I want to continue this minute-per-day goal, (rather than a word count) as it helps me actually sit down and write.


Posting:

My goal going forward will be to post a short story, writing excerpt, or project update every Tuesday, and to post a poem every Friday. This schedule will of course be subject to change, especially during special challenges or writing seasons.


That's the overview for 2020, and I could not be more excited to share the ideas and the fruition with you.


Blessings!

Clara

67 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page