top of page

What's the Word(count)?

Sometimes, life doesn't go the way you expect.


I know I'm preaching to the choir. In 2020, pretty much everybody's in the choir. We have all been given a powerful reminder that things happen that we don't plan for and don't expect. And quite frankly, we don't know how to deal with.


I had a goal I posted about for the month of July. I attempted to write 50,000 words of a draft of my novel, Maroon. I was excited, overwhelmed, and quite aware of the massive workload it would be.


So...what's the word? Failure.


I didn't make the 50,000, not even close.


What's the end word count? 11,504.


I've always been a perfectionist and a high achiever, so the word 'failure' is a difficult one. It's a word I've had to reconcile myself with over and over again throughout my life.


That's ok, though. I had an unexpected and amazing opportunity to coach and be a lab leader at a debate camp, which was really special. It was early mornings, late nights, and combined with preparing for it there was no way to make up the lost writing time.


In this case, I'm still thrilled that I got over 10,000 words in, and a jumpstart into the new version of my story. I really can't wait to get back to it, though. I'm starting a new season of life with a full college class load and jobs, but I still want to make writing a habit and I still am going to be posting poetry and other projects here.


God sometimes puts something unexpected in our paths. It can seem like a blessing, it can seem distressing. It can often cost us something we care about.


But no matter how terrible the new reality may seem, He can always, always work something out for our good. (See Romans 8:28) I think that's something we all need to be reminded of, especially during 2o2o. Sometimes the choir just desperately needs a good sermon.


I'll keep you all in my prayers, and I'll keep you posted on my writing progress!


Blessings.

Clara

60 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page