top of page

I'm Attempting 50,000 Words...In a Month

Well, guys, I'm actually going to do it.


I'm attempting to accomplish something that I never have before.


Sure, in the last few years I've done some modified versions of NaNoWriMo. (Sorry, more crazy acronyms. That's National Novel Writing Month.) I've also done Camp NaNoWriMo, the Summer version that happens every July.


The most I ever wrote in one month so far has been 20,000 words. The average novel length is around 50,000 words.


In the month of July I'm setting the word count goal for myself (along with thousands across the country) of a grueling 50,000 words.


Don't get me wrong, I'm excited! I just have done stuff like this enough to realize how difficult it's going to be. I'll be taking my novel Maroon and striving for a complete rough draft in 31 days. If I can achieve this it will be tremendously helpful, since classes will soon start up and I'll have less time to make meaningful progress. Plus, rewriting and editing are the fun part for me.


What does this mean for you? It probably means I'll be so swamped trying to write over-a-thousand-words-per-day that I won't have time to do much posting for the month.


However, I'll try to occasionally update you on my progress, both in word count and plot! And stay tuned for some possible excerpts as well.


I so appreciate your support in my writing endeavors through reading my ramblings and resolutions! It's going to be a fun ride.




48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page